Oval Partnership Briefing Note
St George Wharf is a 93,000 sq m 22 storey mixed use development comprising over 1,100 apartments, as well as offices, retail units and restaurants. The first residents began to arrive in Autumn 2000 and the development has a thriving resident association.
The five gull wing roofs [or giant books] and terraces make for a very distinctive landmark. Although the overall design has been criticised, the experience at pedestrian level is positive. The river walkway and courtyards are a welcome addition to the area.
Brunswick House (see bottom picture) is now dominated by St George Wharf. This listed building dates from 1758 when it was set in 3.5 acres of park land which has long since disappeared